User FAQ's Expert FAQ's Expert Login Contact Us


You Are Here Home > Autos > Auto Insurance > Auto Insurance > Expert Answer

Question Describe car insurance laws in Minnesota (Posted by: Anonymous )

Tobias Answered by: Tobias, an
expert in the Auto Insurance category
Like My Writing Below?

Click Here to hire me
to write for you!

  
  
  
  

Answer
Car Insurance Laws in Minnesota

Whether driving on the Minnesotan transport corridor of Duluth or Minneapolis-St Paul; whether crossing the interstate highway I-90 or I-35; Minnesota demands two major things from you: obey its traffic laws and follow car insurance laws. Summarily, Minnesota expects drivers to be responsible.

What are the major car insurance laws in Minnesota?

The first requirement on a driver in Minnesota is minimum liability coverage that include the bodily injury liability and the property damage liability coverage. Further attached to these are uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage and personal injury protection coverage. Before a vehicle is registered in Minnesota, a motorist has to provide proof of car insurance: both the insurance company and the policy number.

Drivers in Minnesota must always carry a proof of car insurance: usually as a policy card, an official statement authenticated by the insurer, or the present insurance cover. The sums attached to these minimum fees are:

1.     Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$ 40,000 for every individual trapped in any single accident (sub-divided as $20,000 for hospital bills and $20,000 for losses in salaries, restoration services)

2.     Liability coverage

A.     $30,000 for bodily injury liability for every individual hurt.

B.     $60,000 for injuries on more than one individual hurt in the accident.

C.     $10,000 for damage to the vehicle or property of another driver.

3.     Uninsured

A. $25,000 for injuries suffered by a single person per accident

B. $50,000 for injuries on more than one person for each accident

4.     Under-insured

A. $25,000 for injuries suffered by a single person per accident

B. $50, 000 for injuries on more than one person per accident

Law on Rental Cars

Minnesota Car Insurance laws require motorists with rented cars to pay a minimum of $35,000 as a cover for loss of use, or damages to the car. The range of vehicles covered by this minimum is pickups, vans that are below 26,000 pounds, and trucks. Besides, this cover should not include the deductible committed per accident.

Family Members Coverage

Minnesota car insurance laws allow all members of a family that would drive one family vehicle to be listed on the policy. The law allows the insurance company to cancel or lower the extent of coverage at any time they realize that a member who is not listed is driving the car.

Laws on Lapses

In Minnesota, car insurance laws penalize lapses in coverage. A lapse in coverage is taken to mean driving without coverage. Once a person is found driving without insurance policy coverage, immediate forfeiture of driving privileges, a fine, and ultimately a jail term may follow.

Laws on Personal Credit History

Minnesotan car insurance laws allow insurance companies to consider a person's credit history in order to determine the premiums. The law also allows the use of gender, type of vehicle, residential place, previous driving record, mileage, and coverage to calculate the auto insurance quote.

The No Fault System

Minnesota follows the no fault system. That means that when drivers are involved in accidents, their insurance policy only cover them and not the others involved. The other parties involved in the accident are covered with their insurance policies.

Laws on Driving Under Influence

Driving while under the control of a substance is illegal in Minnesota. When a driver is caught and convicted of DUI, he or she faces a 90-day jail term which could be extended up to 1 year. The DUI convict is fined between $1,000 and $14,000.

Minnesota applies the applied consent law, taking anybody to have consented to a chemical BAC test when driving on its roads.

The maximum BAC in Minnesota is 0.08. When the BAC goes beyond 0.15, a sentence follows. For commercial vehicle drivers, the minimum BAC is 0.04, while the BAC for individuals below the age of 21 has a minimum BAC of 0.02.

Individuals driving under the influence after the first DUI offense will have their driving license suspended for 90 days. Usually, this is called an administrative license deferral. Immediately the traffic officer suspects a driver if DUI, he or she suspends your driving license for 7 days; the officer can also suspend the license of a driver who refuses or fails a DUI test. Within the 7-day revocation period, the law allows the driver to obtain a limited driving license for 15 days.

For the first DUI offense, there is an authentic license suspension for 3 months, a fine of $1,000, and a jail term of up to 3 months.

For a second DUI offense before the first conviction ends, ?one loses the license for at least 6 months; one may face a jail term of up to 12 months and a payment of up to $ 3,000 in fines.

A third DUI offense results in:

1.     A compulsory alcohol or drug therapy.

2.     A jail term of 1 year.

3. Suspension of the license for a minimum of 12 months.

4.     A $3,000 in fines.

5.     One may also lose the vehicle and the license plates.

Laws on Teen Driving

Minnesota has put in place several laws for teen drivers.

1.     Vanessa’s Law of 2004: No teen is licensed at the ages of 18 and below if they are found driving when drunk. Such a teen will have to pay $680 and take the system of driving licensing that is directed by the court.

2.     Minnesota’s Graduated Driver Licensing law which prescribes two phases, a learning phase and a provisional phase, before being licensed to drive.

Minnesota surely cares for its citizens!

Please Rate This Answer! Avg. Count
  1 2 3 4 5   2.00 6
Poor Excellent

Help Make This Answer Better - Post a Comment or Follow-Up Question!


First Name(Optional) OR
Email Address
Are you a human?

Similar Questions & Answers for: Describe car insurance laws in Minnesota
Loading

Ask a Question About Auto Insurance
or